UN Defies Trump, Votes Against Jerusalem Declaration

Results of Jerusalem Resolution

US President Donald Trump’s decision to recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel was condemned by 128 countries in a United Nations. Nine countries supported the US’ decision, 35 abstained and another 21 did not participate in the vote. Joining the U.S. and Israel in voting against the resolution were Togo, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Micronesia, Palau, Honduras and Guatemala.

Nikki Haley, US Ambassador to the UN

In a not so veiled threat, UN Ambassodor Nikki Haley said, “The United States will remember this day in which it was singled out for attack in the General Assembly for the very act of exercising our right as a sovereign nation,” Haley said. “We will remember it when we are once again called upon to make the world’s largest contribution to the United Nations, and we will remember it when so many countries come calling on us, as they so often do, to pay even more and to use our influence for their benefit.” Israel denounced Thursday’s vote, saying, ” It’s shameful that this meeting is even taking place.” Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu of Israel said, “Israel completely rejects this preposterous resolution. Jerusalem is our capital. Always was, always will be.” The old city was partitioned after the Palestinian- Israeli war of 1948, with the East side going to Palestine, which is 93 percent Muslim. At the end of the 6 Day war in 1967,  Israel occupied East Jerusalem and never relinquished control. John Brennan, former CIA director under President Obama tweeted, ” Trump Admin threat to retaliate against nations that exercise sovereign right in UN to oppose US position on Jerusalem is beyond outrageous. Shows @realDonaldTrump expects blind loyalty and subservience from everyone, qualities usually found in narcissistic, vengeful autocrats.” The General Assembly vote followed one at the U.N. Security Council earlier this week, when the U.S. used its veto to block a resolution undoing Trump’s decision to recognize Jerusalem as the Israeli capital. For a list of how the countries voted click here.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.